Mission statement

(Find our original mission statement in German here)

About us and our goals

The Maximilianeum is sponsored by the Josef-Verein which belongs to the Catholic Liebfrauen church. This connection obligates us to put humans in the middle. It is our primary mission to offer affordable housing to young adults during their education. Housing that not only offers a well-balanced price ratio but also space for shared living, friendships and the freedom of personal development.

We are an open-minded house without restrictions to culture, religion or gender. In order to keep harmony all residents and employees are asked for a respectful and tolerant tone.

Living

We offer young adults and teenagers not only accommodation but a home to live. If problems (e.g., about education or personal relationships) occur our house offers a support system and a place to talk. Friendships are encouraged and couples tolerated.

Studying

Studying and learning requires a calm and mindful environment. Other activities in the house will respect this as the education stands in the centre. This rule especially applies during exams. Our infrastructure is up to date to support studying.

Ecology, Wellbeing

We respect and care for the environment, on a daily basis as well as in other projects, e.g., reconstructions of our buildings. We encourage a resourceful and healthy lifestyle. Whenever possible, our resources are recycled. At Max 12 we offer a healthy and well-balanced diet. Residents with health conditions (e.g. allergies) are asked to inform the administration first.

Rules

For over 130 young adults living together rules are essential. The house rules, written by the administrators, is handed to each resident upon arrival. Periodic talks ensure that these rules are followed and also offers a chance to discuss occurring questions in order to find solutions. The administration is available for any requires.
Self-Awareness and -responsibility should be learned and are especially necessary in our housing with shared kitchens. Respectful behaviour towards our international staff is absolutely mandatory.


The Maximilianeum was founded over a 100 years ago in order “to protect the male youth in Zürich”. That mission statement was updated in summer 2010 with the help of many residents, employees and the administration. This mission statement has been approved by the Josefverein on the 5th April 2011.

Leitbild Maximilianeum

Trägerschaft und Ziele

Das Maximilianeum wird getragen vom Josef-Verein, welcher zur katholischen Pfarrei Liebfrauen gehört. Dieser Hintergrund verpflichtet uns, den Menschen in den Mittelpunkt zu stellen. Wir verstehen es als unsere Aufgabe, jungen Menschen in Ausbildung einen Wohnplatz zu bieten, in welchem das Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis dank der finanziellen Unterstützung der Trägerschaft ausgewogen ist. Ein Haus, in welchem gemeinschaftliches Wohnen, Lernen und Leben, aber auch die persönliche Freiheit und Entfaltung ermöglicht werden.

Wir sind ein offenes Haus ohne kulturelle, religiöse oder geschlechtliche Schranken. Zum Gelingen eines guten Miteinanders sind das Respektieren der Persönlichkeit und der Arbeit aller, sowie gegenseitige Rücksichtnahme notwendig.

Wohnen

Wir bieten jungen Menschen in Ausbildung ein Zuhause in Offenheit und Geborgenheit. Bei Ausbildungs- oder Beziehungsproblemen kann hier Rückhalt gefunden werde. Freundschaften können geknüpft werden und paarweises Zusammenleben wird toleriert.

Lernen

Studieren und Lernen erfordert eine Umgebung der relativen Ruhe. Die übrigen Tätigkeiten und Aktivitäten im Haus nehmen darauf Rücksicht, insbesondere während der Prüfungszeiten. Fürs Lernen steht eine moderne IT-Infrastruktur zur Verfügung.

Ökologie, Gesundheit

Sowohl im Alltag wie auch bei baulichen Erneuerungen wird auf schonenden Umgang mit unseren Ressourcen und auf die Gesundheit aller geachtet. Dies bedeutet zum Beispiel, Abfälle zur Wiederverwertung zu sortieren.

Im Haupthaus bieten wir eine zeitgemässe, ausgewogene und abwechslungsreiche Küche an.

Regeln

Das Zusammenleben von mehr als 130 jungen Menschen erfordert Regeln. Eine Hausordnung, verfasst von der Heimleitung, wird an alle Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner abgegeben und ihre Einhaltung wird eingefordert.  Bei periodischen Aussprachen zwischen Bewohnerinnen, Bewohnern und Hausleitung werden anstehende Fragen besprochen und Lösungen gesucht. Die Hausleitung steht bei auftauchenden Anliegen jederzeit zu einem Gespräch zur Verfügung.

Eigenverantwortung soll sich entfalten können und ist insbesondere bei den Häusern mit Selbstversorgung Voraussetzung.

Wertschätzender Umgang mit unserem internationalen Personal wird vorausgesetzt.

 

Das Maximilianeum wurde vor mehr als 100 Jahren gegründet zum „Schutze der männlichen Jugend in Zürich“. Dieses Leitbild wurde im Sommer 2010 ausgearbeitet, in Zusammenarbeit mit den Bewohnerinnen und Bewohnern, Personal und Hausleitung, und in Kraft gesetzt vom Vorstand des Josefvereins am 5.4.2011.


Maximilianeum
Leonhardstrasse 12
8001 Zürich
0041 44 251 08 32